Amazon Molly

This ordinary-looking fish actually has something really amazing about it, though you’d hardly tell by looking at her. No, I’m not an expert fish sexer, I know this one is a girl because ALL Amazon mollies are girls. They have defied the odds by remaining alive for about 70,000 years without men.
Which explains their name. They aren’t from the Amazon river, like you might expect. These mollies instead come from rivers in Texas and Mexico, and are named after the Amazon warriors (all women) from Mediterrranean legend.

So how do these fish manage the impossible? A combination of asexual reproduction and gene-stealing from sister species of fish, such as sailfin mollies) allows them to keep on truckin’, despite a lack of Y chromosome in their community. The girls have been seen, however, to copulate with males of other species, but no results have been shown as to if these unions create offspring.

(This article is taken from one of my old blogs, zoodaily. So if you come across an article that seems eerily similar, that’s why. I’m just plagiarising myself!)

About Katie

I'm a student at MSU, but I drive safari trucks on my days off. I love animals, and I love trying to tell people about them. I also have an incurable obsession with Disney.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

