What do they do and why do they do it?

I decided I needed some non-Disney related posts, and also an increase in the amount of animals on this site! It’s been like 2 months and I haven’t posted anything about animals.

SO, I thought I’d treat you with a whole lot of videos today. In my animal behavior class, we’ve been watching a lot of these to make interpretations about and learn how to analyze different behaviors, and they are perfect examples of why I even have this site going.

Here’s an excerpt from Planet Earth of various Birds of Paradise trying to get it on with the females. With most animals other than humans, and especially birds, the males are the showoffy ones trying to impress the females. They have intricate displays, songs, and dances to show those ladies just why these guys are the pick of the litter. Or sometimes, these displays show the other guys they don’t stand a chance. Either way, they are awesome, and this video has some really good examples of why species diversity ROCKS.

Here is the Clark’s Grebe, which I found on Discovery’s Life, and we subsequently watched in class. I know I’ll have found true love when it goes something like this. No words, we’ll just …know.

I figure that’s enough birds, so we’ll move on to hippos. Now, we’re getting a bit crude, but here’s a behavior I saw every single day at safaris. This actually is used to help mark hippo territory, or maybe at safaris they just like hearing guests squeal. I will never understand why people are surprised to see animals poop.

And, because I ALWAYS have baby elephants on the brain, here’s a couple young ones playing around. While on safari, I’ve been lucky enough to see the calves of all ages playing, and it’s most interesting to me to see the older ones interacting with the younger ones. I’ve seen Tufani knock Tsavo away with his foot, and I’ve seen Luna gallivanting around with Nidirah and Kianga in the water. Just like I say on my safaris, elephant babies are a LOT like human babies, you can always find them playing around, and a lot of times pestering their parents.

That’s all I’ve got time for now, I’ve got to get back to homework so I can graduate and do animal things.

About Katie

I'm a student at MSU, but I drive safari trucks on my days off. I love animals, and I love trying to tell people about them. I also have an incurable obsession with Disney.
This entry was posted in animals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

