The Process Begins Again!

Alright. It’s been quite a while, but I’m starting this up again. I got bitter because I got let go at safaris, and I was busy with school, but now I’ve got some irons in the fire and I figured I should document it!

Anyways, a few weeks ago, I applied for 2 (3?) Professional Internships with Disney. DAK Conservation Presenter, Animal Behavior, and I’ll officially apply for Marine Mammal when I am SCUBA certified (in a little over a week).

So, I suppose I’ll talk about the process so far. First off, I went to the Disney Professional Internship site, and picked out the internships I wanted to apply for. There were about 4, maybe 5 I wanted, but Animal Programs (AP) has a limit of 3 that you can apply for, which is probably a good guideline anyways. Applying consists of uploading your resume, transcript, and possibly cover letters to their site, and selecting which ones to send for each application. About 4-5 days later, I got the first email.

The first email is pretty much a form email, and required me to reply back confirming I knew basic things about the internship, such as that it was 6 months long, when it started, that I needed reliable transportation (a requirement!!), that I was a college student, etc. You are required to reply to this within 24 hours. I was also asked to indicate which three internships I was applying for. This is where it gets a little tricky for me, because I was going to apply for the Marine Mammal internship but technically couldn’t, yet, because I needed SCUBA certification. I told them that in this email, though.

The next email came a day later, with a personal note tacked on for me. They explained that I wouldn’t have to separately apply for the Marine Mammal internship, they would simply do it for me once I confirmed my SCUBA certification. After that was another form letter, this one containing two questionnaire documents for Animal Behavior and Marine Mammal. These were questions such as “are you earning a 3.0 gpa?” and questions about previous experience.

Once I returned that, I got another form letter pretty much telling you the deal about phone interviews. Some internships have them, some do not. Nothing real interesting there.

Yesterday, I got the email for DAK conservation presenter to schedule a phone interview! They gave me a huge list of dates and times, and asked me to pick three, and confirm my phone number. I responded, but I also added in that I would be in Orlando the week after the week they suggested for the phone interview, and would be available for an in-person interview. They agreed that this would be possible, and I am now scheduling that interview (pending my SCUBA class).

So, it’s been pretty busy. The next entries shouldn’t be nearly as long, but hopefully just as interesting!!

About Katie

I'm a student at MSU, but I drive safari trucks on my days off. I love animals, and I love trying to tell people about them. I also have an incurable obsession with Disney.
This entry was posted in Disney, internship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

