Manatee Queen, here I come!

I just checked my email (like I have been all day, every day) about 20 minutes ago, and what do you know, I’ve got an email from Disney!

This one is considering my #1 internship, the Marine Mammal one. It involves working with both the manatees at the living seas, and the dolphins there as well. For this internship, you have to be SCUBA certified, which I was rushing to complete (I wish I hadn’t had to put it off so late because of money!), but I became certified just in time! (IE: 2 days before the deadline of the internship!) I’ve already had the interview for Conservation Presenter, so I’m hopefully doing good there as well, but this is the one that I would be over the moon for.

In case you didn’t realize, The Living Seas in EPCOT is actually great at rehabilitating manatees and other aqualife. Even though these acts aren’t publicized, I think that almost makes them more sincere. These animals aren’t just being helped because it makes the company look good, they’re being helped because the people who work there truly care about them. It’s so great to see Disney putting in so much effort to help their local wildlife.

This really is an effort I’m passionate about, and getting to work with and around these animals while telling guests about them and answering questions would really be a dream come true for me. Just ask 8-year-old me. She’ll back me up.

About Katie

I'm a student at MSU, but I drive safari trucks on my days off. I love animals, and I love trying to tell people about them. I also have an incurable obsession with Disney.
This entry was posted in Disney, internship, me, real life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

