Busy busy week

Oh boy, a lot has happened since the last time I posted. But I’ve been super busy because of that and other things, so I haven’t gotten to update much.

First off, my Marine Mammal interview went really well, I think. I felt really passionate about all my answers that I gave and the interview itself didn’t feel very pressured at all. Hopefully my interviewer understood how much I’d like this position and how well I (think I) am suited for it. Many of the questions were similar to the Conservation Presenter role, asking how you’d deal with a guest who did not agree with animals in captivity, what I thought of it, and if I’m okay not being really hands-on with animals. The conservation education role is much less hands-on, but the Marine Mammal one has the potential, so that was a little more relevant this time. Of course I’m still interested, though! Part of the job is blending fish as well, for meals, which I had to confirm I was okay with too. It’s a good thing pretty much nothing icks me out.

The next day, I got a call from Binder Park Zoo, a zoo I used to live right near, and is really successful. They’ve got a huge Wild Africa savannah, and they also recently raised a baby snow leopard. Anyways, I had talked with them at a job fair about a month ago about a few internships and other job opportunities. I gave them my resume but hadn’t applied for anything because I got busy with school, and didn’t really intend to stay in Michigan anyways. But during this call, the woman I had spoken with at the job fair asked if I had applied, mentioned that my resume had stuck out to them, and said that they thought I’d be a good fit with them. SO, I applied. I talked with them again yesterday after my application went in, and it sounds like they might have filled the education internship (which gets a stipend), but not the Animal Care internship (which does not get a stipend). I don’t know what I’ll do about all this, but if I get the Animal Care one, I don’t know if I can afford to live there without any sort of income.

As if that wasn’t enough, on Friday I talked with Sea World again. I missed their first call, and was wondering if this was a call to tell me I wasn’t going any further, since they said this internship was so competitive. Turns out, they wanted another interview with me, which is now scheduled for later today. It should be a half an hour, they said, and unfortunately I haven’t been able to find much out about this internship in general. Lots of Disney people chronicle their experience, but apparently not so much with Sea World. I have heard about a pretty intense swim test, which I should probably start working on soon if I think I have a shot at even doing the swim test.

That’s all for now, I’ll update again after my internship.

About Katie

I'm a student at MSU, but I drive safari trucks on my days off. I love animals, and I love trying to tell people about them. I also have an incurable obsession with Disney.
This entry was posted in Disney, internship, me, real life, zoos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

