Unexpected Outcome

Well, there’s a week and a half until May 1st, the deadline to hear back from Disney. I’m losing faith pretty quickly that I’ll get one. It’s kind of a bummer – this was what I’ve been setting my hopes on since freshman year of college. But thankfully, Animal Programs lets you continue to apply up to I think a year after college.

On the bright side, I got offered an internship at Binder Park Zoo, and I got a call from Sea World. I was offered the education internship at Binder Park, which I wish I could have done. I used to go there a lot when I was little, and I would have gotten to help out with the things I used to do there, like the overnights. Unfortunately, they could only give me $50/week (before taxes!).

The call from Sea World, I expected (again) to be them telling me I was out of the running. Turns out, I’m not quite, but I am in the backup pool. This Friday, their first choices are interviewing and swim testing, but if they need to call someone in because something happens, I might be the person they call. I told them I’d be willing to stay in the backup pool, but they also offered me a job in their College Experience program. I told them I’d take it, and the lady I spoke with even suggested that I could be working attractions at Discovery Cove. So, as of right now, that’s my plan. I should hear officially on Monday what’s going on, but it’s looking like I’ll be working May 23 to Aug 23 as an attractions host with the dolphins! Not exactly what I had been expecting, but at least I get to network during this job, and I can live with my friends in the place I want to live.

I’ll be busy, moving out the week after my grad party, but I’m sure I’ll enjoy it. Still crossing my fingers over Disney, though.

About Katie

I'm a student at MSU, but I drive safari trucks on my days off. I love animals, and I love trying to tell people about them. I also have an incurable obsession with Disney.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

