Life at Discovery Cove

Well, it’s been quite a while since I last updated. Things got pretty hectic after that, with finals and moving and my grad party and all that stuff. Anyways, here’s the deal now.

I started my job at Seaworld! Let me tell you, it is a lot different than Disney. I attended orientation and a tour of Discovery Cove, and then was told they would call me about my schedule. Two days later, they told me one day to come in, and that I would get the rest of my schedule then. It was a day-by-day basis for almost a week. There was also some weirdness where I had chosen to work in Guest Services, and they switched me to Reception. After I finished most of the Reception training, they moved me to Guest Services again. But either way, it’s all sorted out now.

My job consists mostly of standing around the park and helping guests. We greet them, tell them where everything is, size them for wetsuits, give them lockers, and answer any questions they have. The job is hot, and the hours are long, but it’s not too bad. Another good portion of my job is spent in the laundry rooms, cleaning wetsuits or towels, and making up the bags with the masks and snorkels in them.

I’m still in the process of trying to get back to Disney. I really didn’t think it would take this long. I’ve been talking with the current (new) area manager at Safaris, who confirmed that they are hiring now, but I still haven’t heard back from casting. I am going to try to call soon to hear something.

About Katie

I'm a student at MSU, but I drive safari trucks on my days off. I love animals, and I love trying to tell people about them. I also have an incurable obsession with Disney.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

